Joe Biden names members of White House economic team

Joe Biden names members of White House economic team

President-elect Joe Biden on Monday announced the key members of his economic team led by former Fed chair Janet Yellen, who would become the first woman to serve as Treasury secretary if confirmed.

“This crisis-tested team will help President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris lift America out of the current economic downturn and build back better — creating an economy that gives every single person across America a fair shot and an equal chance to get ahead,” the incoming Biden administration said in a statement.

“These choices reflect the president-elect’s commitment to building an administration that looks like America, drawing on the diverse backgrounds and lived experiences of some of our nation’s foremost economic experts,” it said.

Along with Yellen’s selection as Treasury secretary, Biden also named Neera Tanden as director of the Office of Management and Budget, Wally Adeyemo, deputy Treasury secretary, Cecilia Rouse as chair of the Council of Economic Advisers, and Jared Berstein and Heather Boushey as members of the Council of Economic Advisers.

Biden’s announcement of his economic picks comes a day after he named an all-female group to head up the White House communications team, with Kate Bedingfield, the campaign’s communications director, and Jen Psaki, a former White House communications director, playing leading roles.