How Suns’ current streak compares to longest win streaks in NBA history



By wrapping up their perfect 4-0 road trip in Brooklyn on Saturday night, the Phoenix Suns extended their win streak to 16. 

The streak is the second-longest in franchise history and is one shy of the franchise record, which was recorded in the 2006-07 season. 

NBA League Pass: Sign up to unlock live out-of-market games (7-day free trial)

Winning 16 consecutive games has kept the reigning Western Conference Champions at the top of the league standings and helped them bounce back from a 1-3 start to the season. 

Of the 16 games, the Suns have an equal amount at home at the Footprint Center (8) and on the road (8). During this streak, the team has dominated on both ends of the floor as they rank third for their defensive rating and seventh for offensive rating – making them one of only four teams to rank in the Top 10 for both

MORE: Most 50-point games in NBA history

While it is easily the longest in the 2021-22 season, the Suns’ streak is the most number of games won by an NBA team since the Milwaukee Bucks won 18 straight late in 2019. 

Their current run of 16 straight wins ranks just outside the top 20 all-time but just a few more wins will have Phoenix crack into the Top 5. 

That said, here’s a look at the five longest single-season win streaks in NBA history:

Longest single-season win streaks in NBA history
Win Streak Team Season
33 Los Angeles Lakers* 1971-72 
27 Miami Heat* 2012-13
24 Golden State Warriors 2015-16
22 Houston Rockets 2007-08
20 Milwaukee Bucks* 1970-71

*Teams to have won the championship that season

At this point, three of the five teams to have recorded win streaks of 20 or more have won the NBA title that season. So, with this streak, the Suns have vaulted themselves from the tier of contenders to the tier of favorites. 

Their only roadblock? – The Golden State Warriors. 

To crack past 20 wins, the Suns have to defeat the red-hot team from San Francisco, led by MVP frontrunner Stephen Curry, not once but twice in the span of three games (Tuesday, Friday). 


Source link