CES 2022’s live reveals are here: How to watch this week’s announcements

0
21

[ad_1]

CES 2022

CES 2022 is happening this week as both a digital event and in-person in Las Vegas.


CNET

This story is part of CES, where CNET covers the latest news on the most incredible tech coming soon.

CES 2022 is now in full swing, with Tuesday’s press day schedule set to feature major exhibitors whether or not they’re attending in Las Vegas. Even though several major exhibitors, including Microsoft, Google, AMD and Intel, have canceled or modified their in-person plans, much of the press conference schedule remains intact and CNET will livestream many of these events on CNET’s main YouTube channel and the CNET Highlights channel. 

On Tuesday, you’ll be able to watch LG, Hyundai and Samsung’s big reveals with CNET editors, complete with preshow and postshow commentary.

The LG reveal event livestream will begin at 7:45 a.m. PT Tuesday, and can be viewed here:

The Hyundai livestream will be at 2:45 p.m. PT, and is viewable here:

And the Samsung livestream will begin at 6:15 p.m. PT here:

On Wednesday at 8:45 a.m. PT, we’ll be hosting GM’s self-driving car reveal event here:

Over on the CNET Highlights channel, we will be carrying the livestreams for the following CES press conferences.

Tuesday

7 a.m. PT (10 a.m. ET): AMD and TCL

8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET): LG and Nvidia

9 a.m. PT (12 p.m. ET): Hisense

10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET): Intel

11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET): Qualcomm and ROG

1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET): Canon

2 p.m. PT (5 p.m. ET): Ottonomy

3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. ET): Hyundai

5 p.m. PT (8 p.m. ET): Sony

6:30 p.m. PT (9:30 p.m. ET): Samsung

Wednesday

8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET): Asus 

9 a.m. PT (12 p.m. ET): GM

You’ll also find other CNET video coverage from CES 2022 on our website and YouTube channel. Coverage will include product reveals, hands-on impressions, commentary and more as the week goes on.

While Tuesday’s press day is often filled with major announcements, CES officially kicks off on Jan. 5 and will close a day early on Jan. 7 as a safety measure for in-person attendees. The CTA made that change on Dec. 31 amid concerns about spiking COVID-19 infection rates.

“We are shortening the show to three days and have put in place comprehensive health measures for the safety of all attendees and participants,” said CTA President and CEO Gary Shapiro in a Friday statement.

Despite the concerns and major exhibitors departing the show floor, the CTA says 2,200 exhibitors are still confirmed to attend in person. 

Those who are attending in person must submit proof of COVID-19 vaccination, and the CTA is asking attendees to test for the virus within 24 hours before entering a CES venue with a complimentary Abbott BinaxNow COVID-19 self-testing kit that is being provided with badges. Masks will be required for all attendees in exhibit booths and indoor events. Complimentary PCR testing will also be provided for international attendees who require a test to travel after the show ends.

The change in the show’s length follows two weeks of companies announcing their pivot to virtual-only plans for CES 2022, which began with T-Mobile. Amid the dropouts, the CTA said that 143 new companies have signed up to be at the in-person event over the same period of time.

A statement from Mercedes, which dropped out on Dec. 29, reflects the views of many other companies that are now holding exclusively digital CES events.

“As the health and safety of our customers, partners, employees and guests are our highest priority. In view of the current situation in connection with the COVID-19 virus, we’ve therefore decided to cancel Mercedes-Benz AG’s participation in CES 2022, after intensive consultations,” a spokesperson for the carmaker shared via email on Dec. 29. 

Even as higher-profile companies announced their withdrawals, the CTA emphasized that the show floor also plays host to small and medium-sized firms. 

“CES will and must go on,” Shapiro wrote in a Dec. 24 LinkedIn post. “It will have many more small companies than large ones. It may have big gaps on the show floor. Certainly, it will be different from previous years. It may be messy. But innovation is messy. It is risky and uncomfortable.”

The rapid spread of the omicron variant and rise in COVID-19 cases are making many people uneasy. On Dec. 29, the US surpassed 486,000 new daily cases — far higher than last winter’s pandemic peak on Jan. 8, 2021, when the US crossed 294,000 new daily cases, according to the CDC.

Here is the growing list of companies that have changed their minds about attending CES, starting with the most recent announcements:

  • GfK North America: On Dec. 30, research firm GfK North America announced it was transitioning its automotive tech presentation into a virtual event. “Acting on growing concerns over employee health, GfK will not present in person at CES 2022 in Las Vegas,” the company said in a press release.
  • Mercedes-Benz: The automaker announced on Dec. 29 that it is canceling its physical presence.
  • Panasonic: Panasonic has shifted its press conference into a virtual event while keeping a “modified physical footprint, with limited on-site staff,” announced CEO Megan Myungwon Lee on Dec. 29.
  • Magna: “Magna’s leadership has decided to withdraw from CES 2022 and cancel the press conference on Jan. 5,” said a spokesperson for the auto parts-maker via email. The company also tweeted its decision on Dec. 29.
  • AMD: “After careful deliberation, AMD has decided to cancel our in-person presence at CES 2022 in Las Vegas and will instead transition to a virtual experience. While the AMD 2022 Product Premiere was always planned as a digital-only livestream, our in-person engagements will now transition to virtual in the best interest of the health and safety of our employees, partners and communities,” AMD said in a statement on Dec. 28. The company still plans to hold its scheduled announcements on Jan. 4 as part of its digital-only plans.
  • OnePlus: The phone maker previously planned only an unofficial presence in Las Vegas. But CNET confirmed on Dec. 28 that the company is scrapping its in-person plans, regardless. The news was reported earlier by Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman. OnePlus was rumored to be debuting the OnePlus 10 Pro phone at the show, and CEO Pete Lau teased last week on the Weibo social network that the phone’s reveal will be coming in January.
  • Brunswick: The recreational marine company announced Dec. 28 that it shifted its plans to virtual.
  • Microsoft: “The health and well-being of our employees is our ultimate priority. After reviewing the latest data on the rapidly evolving COVID environment, Microsoft has decided not to participate in-person at CES 2022,” the company said in a statement emailed late on Dec. 24. Microsoft said it will join the show virtually.
  • Google and Waymo: “We’ve been closely monitoring the development of the omicron variant, and have decided that this is the best choice for the health and safety of our teams,” a Google spokesperson said. Alphabet-owned Waymo, which focuses on self-driving cars, made a similar statement on Dec. 23.
  • GM: The company will not send employees or executives to the show, Reuters reported on Dec. 23. CEO Mary Barra will deliver her keynote speech online.
  • Intel: The chipmaker said that it will scale down its presence. “After consulting with health officials and in the spirit of Intel’s safety policy, our plans for CES will move to a digital-first, live experience, with minimal on-site staff,” Intel said on Dec. 23.
  • Lenovo: “After closely monitoring the current surrounding COVID-19, it is in the best interest of the health and safety of our employees, customers, partners, and our communities to suspend all on-site activity in Las Vegas,” the company announced via Twitter on Dec. 23.
  • TikTok: “In light of the increase in positive COVID-19 cases across the country, TikTok has decided to host a virtual TikTok CES experience for our brands and partners,” the company said Dec. 22.
  • AT&T: “The health and safety of our employees and customers is a top priority, so we have decided to forgo in-person participation at CES 2022,” a spokesperson said Dec. 22.
  • Meta: “Out of an abundance of caution and care for our employees, we won’t be attending CES in-person due to the evolving public health concerns related to COVID-19,” the company said Dec. 21.
  • Twitter: “The safety and health of our people and our partners are our No. 1 priority. With that in mind, due to the spike in COVID-19 cases across the country in the past week, we’ve decided to cancel our in-person presence at CES next month,” the company said Dec. 21.
  • Amazon and Ring: “Due to the quickly shifting situation and uncertainty around the omicron variant, we will no longer have an on-site presence at CES,” Amazon said Dec. 21. A spokesperson for Ring, Amazon’s home security subsidiary, issued an identical statement.
  • Pinterest: The company announced its change of plans on Dec. 21.
  • Nvidia: The company has been “cautious from the start” and is set to deliver a virtual address on Jan. 4 at 8 a.m. PT, a spokesperson said on Dec. 21.
  • T-Mobile: The “vast majority” of its team won’t head to Vegas, though the company will remain a sponsor. “We are prioritizing the safety of our team and other attendees with this decision,” the carrier said in a statement on Dec 21. “T-Mobile’s entire team looks forward to an in-person CES 2023, which we hope includes an onstage keynote in front of a live audience.”

The decisions follow the US reaching the grim milestone of 800,000 COVID-19 deaths in December, according to the Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center. 


Now playing:
Watch this:

The Mercedes Vision EQXX EV at CES 2022



4:35



[ad_2]

Source link