Brooks Koepka gets into heated argument with Ryder Cup officials: ‘If I break my wrist, it’s on both of you’

0
24



Even four-time major champions don’t get the benefit of the doubt sometimes.

Competing Saturday at the Ryder Cup, Brooks Koepka was playing in a foursome with Daniel Berger when he went to play Berger’s drive. The shot on the 15th hole landed in tall grass near a bunker and was resting up against a drain pipe.

MORE: Ryder Cup Day 2 live updates, highlights

Koepka, believing his club would hit the pipe on his swing, lobbied the rules officials for several minutes and asked to be granted relief, but to no avail. The officials didn’t give Koepka a free drop because they didn’t feel that the pipe was close enough to his shot.

“You don’t think my club might hit right there?” Koepka said. “Have you ever seen me hit a ball?”

MORE: Steph Curry to serve as insider during Ryder Cup

After realizing that he wasn’t going to win the argument, Koepka didn’t hide his feelings on the officials’ final ruling.

“If I break my wrist, it’s on f—ing both of you guys,” Koepka said.

MORE: Lee Westwood could break multiple Ryder Cup records

Kopeka and Berger tied the hole, but ultimately lost 3 and 1 to their European counterparts Sergio Garcia and Jon Rahm, marking Team USA’s only loss of the morning. The United States leads the competition 9-3 overall.

The U.S. last won the Ryder Cup in 2016, but it has lost four of the previous five entering this year.





Source link